Contact Us 505.843.7303
Contact Us 505.843.7303
New Mexico Attorney Cynthia Payne

Albuquerque Aggravated DWI Lawyer

 

New Mexico DWI

A charge of DWI will be enhanced to an aggravated DWI under the following circumstances:

  1. You refused to submit to a breath or blood test after being requested to do so by a law enforcement officer.
  2. You submitted to a breath or blood test and the results were higher than a .16.
  3. You were involved in a DWI accident involving serious physical injuries.

The effect of an aggravated DWI charge is that it enhances the potential penalty that the court may impose after a conviction or plea. Typically it involves a period of mandatory incarceration. For example, while a straight DWI first offense carries no mandatory jail time, a first offense aggravated charge carries a mandatory 48 hours incarceration.

An aggravated DWI based upon a refusal will also increase your period of license revocation in an MVD proceeding from 6 months to one year. At this time, an aggravated charged based upon breath score or injuries does not increase your period of revocation in the MVD proceedings.

Free Case Evaluation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Attorney Cynthia Payne

New Mexico DWI Defense Attorney Cynthia Payne

Albuquerque's Most Successful DWI Lawyer

New Mexico residents often face penalties that can last a long time when they don’t have an excellent DWI defense attorney working for them. We aggressively defend our clients and know how to navigate the criminal justice system in a manner that best benefits our clients’ interests. If you are in need of an attorney, we will use our 30 years of experience successfully defending DWI cases to help you.
Meet Cynthia
Albuquerque

Need Legal Assistance From a New Mexico Aggravated DWI Attorney?

Call New Mexico Legal Group at 505.843.7303 or get started with a free case evaluation.

Get Started